Fun Flag Day Facts

The anniversary of the flag resolution of June 14th, 1777 was the official adoption of the stars and stripes. Flag Day was officially established by the proclamation of President Woodrow Wilson on May 30th, 1916.

It was not until August 3, 1949 that President Truman, an Elks member, signed an act of congress designating June 14th of each year as National Flag Day.

The benevolent and protective order of Elks was the first, and only, fraternal body to require formal observance of “Flag Day”.

In July, 1908 the Grand Lodge ordered the mandatory nationwide observance of Flag Day on the 14th of June each year.

For many years, Hudson’s Elks Lodge # 787 observed Flag Day with a parade consisting of the Hudson High School Band and with lodge members delivering the mandatory ritual ceremony.

In 1996 the Hudson Elks partnered with the City of Hudson, along with a group of interested citizens, to have a county wide celebration of Flag Day. The call went out to any and every person, group and organization to come and participate in the parade. This was the beginning of many parades ever since; it has turned out to be the largest parade to be held in the City of Hudson.

In 2015, Hudson Flag Day Parade, Inc. was formed and was granted public charity status under Internal Revenue Code (IRC) Section 501 (c)(3). This corporation was organized to conduct such charitable activities, including the collection of contributions and monetary donations necessary to conduct the annual Hudson Flag Day Parade and all associated activities.

The parade marches down Warren Street to the Henry Hudson Riverfront park where a festival is held with entertainment, rides for the children, informational displays, food vendors, an air show and one of the largest fireworks displays in the Hudson River Valley. Ten to twelve thousand people gather within the city to participate in this annual extravaganza.

2022 Committee Members & Volunteers – Here is the core committee for this year’s parade – Thanks for your hard work and dedication!

  • Christine Grossman, President
  • Thomas Elliott, Vice President
  • Brittany Borko, Secretary
  • Sharon Hover, Treasurer
  • Colleen Bartle
  • Kelsey Bartle
  • Tina Butterworth
  • Amy Conte
  • Alan Krom
  • Victoria Revene
  • Kathy Schweizer
  • Holly Tanner
  • Charlie Winters
  • Ed Wheeler

2021 Past Members – We thank you for the hard work that you put in!

  • Christine Abitabile
  • Guy Apicella
  • Sarah Golden
  • Tom Haigh
  • Adam Harrison
  • Sharon Hover
  • Dick Leavitt
  • Michael Madison
  • Adam Miller
  • Michael Sandagato
  • Sarah VanAlphen
  • Bill Williams

The public is welcome to join the Committee as we hold our meetings. DURING THE PANDEMIC WE HAVE BEEN HOLDING OUR MEETINGS VIA ZOOM.

Meetings are held on Thursdays and scheduled for 7 PM unless noted differently. Meeting locations & times are To Be Announced as the location changes from meeting to meeting.

  • February 18 via Zoom
  • March 11
  • April 8
  • April 22